Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science

2018 Archive

Purchasing Deadline 2018

All purchasing requests requiring completion by the end of the calendar year must be submitted by Friday, December 7th. Friday, November 30, 2018

Mac Update Service

Starting Tuesday, December 4, 2018, SCS Computing Facilities will begin scheduled releases of Apple security, macOS and Microsoft Office for Mac updates to all supported Macs.  Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Critical Windows and Adobe Security Patches

Microsoft has released critical security patches for Windows, Internet Explorer and Edge. Adobe has released a security patch for Flash Player. Friday, November 16, 2018

Resource Scheduler Launch

SCS Building Facilities and SCS Computing Facilities are excited to announce the launch of Resource Scheduler. Monday, October 22, 2018

MRM End of Life (EOL) 10/18/18

Tuesday, October 09, 2018

Druva Data Protection Service Ending 11/30/18

Monday, October 01, 2018

macOS 10.14 Mojave - Not Currently Supported

Update: SCS Computing Facilities has cleared this OS for support within SCS. Thursday, September 20, 2018

Welcome to the new SCS Computing Facilities Website!

SCS Computing Facilities is excited to announce the launch of our newly redesigned, mobile-friendly website! Monday, August 13, 2018

New SCS Building Facilities Website

New SCS Building Facilities Website Now Live! Monday, August 13, 2018

Free CrashPlan Data Protection

SCS Computing Facilities is pleased to announce that we are now offering CrashPlan Cloud Data Protection service at no charge to the SCS community with CMU-owned computers. Friday, August 10, 2018

SCS-Public Printing

SCS Computing Facilities has deployed a centralized printing queue. Thursday, August 09, 2018

SCS Technology Lending

The SCS Help Desk has a varied inventory of loaner laptops that includes all major supported vendors including Apple, Lenovo and Dell. This service is available to the SCS Faculty, Staff and Students. Monday, July 30, 2018

New Online SCS Account Application & Account Changes

SCS Computing Facilities launched a new online SCS account application. Monday, July 02, 2018

Support for macOS 10.13 High Sierra

SCS Computing Facilities is now supporting macOS 10.13, although precautions need to be taken by AFS users. Monday, March 12, 2018