Carnegie Mellon University School of Computer Science

2020 Archive

Recommended Web-Conferencing Equipment for Lecturers

Recommended equipment and accessories for remote/web conferencing lecturers. Friday, June 19, 2020

Critical Microsoft Updates

Microsoft has released critical updates (including security patches) for Windows, Internet Explorer, Edge, Office and more. Monday, June 15, 2020

Ubuntu 16.04 - End of Life in 2021

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS – As 16.04 reaches the end of its five-year LTS window in April 2021, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS ‘Xenial Xerus' is in containment and will no longer be supported by SCS Computing Facilities as of May 1, 2021. Monday, June 08, 2020

Critical Microsoft Updates

Microsoft has released critical updates (including security patches) for Windows, Internet Explorer, Edge, Office and more. Monday, May 18, 2020

Connect via VPN to Receive Windows Updates

VPN is required to connect to the SCS Windows domain remotely. Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Critical Microsoft Updates

Microsoft has released critical updates (including security patches) for Windows, Internet Explorer, Edge, Office and more. Monday, April 20, 2020

Off-Campus SCS AD Domain Access Change

VPN will now be required to connect to the SCS Windows domain remotely. Monday, April 13, 2020

Free CrashPlan Data Protection

CrashPlan Cloud Data Protection service is avaiable at no charge to the SCS community. Thursday, March 26, 2020

Critical Microsoft Updates

Microsoft has released critical updates (including security patches) for Windows, Internet Explorer, Edge, Office and more. Monday, March 16, 2020

SCS Computing COVID-19 Response

Our support strategy for remote work efforts in response to COVID-19 Monday, March 16, 2020

Critical Microsoft Updates

Microsoft has released critical updates (including security patches) for Windows, Internet Explorer, Edge, Office and more. Monday, February 17, 2020

Critical Microsoft Updates

Microsoft has released critical updates (including security patches) for Windows, Internet Explorer, Edge, Office and more. Thursday, January 16, 2020